Hello from Harri

Hi, I am Angharad. Or Harri to my friends.

I am fortunate enough to be one of the people who crochet items for Carol (pictured) in The Craft Cwtch. I helped set up the blog and I will be a regular poster for Carol.

99% of what I have made for Carol has been with Cygnet Boho Spirit. The work can be seen below. (Please note, the Dragonscale gloves weren’t made for Carol, but I wanted to have an example of the differing colourways.)

The first Virus Shawl I ever made was for Carol (Using pattern  Virus Shawl from Julia Marquardt) was commissioned after I had made some Dragonscale Gloves (Using Dragonscale Gloves by Zarrinhandmade).  I will be writing a review on the Boho Spirit soon.

Depending on the project, it can take anything from a weekend to a fortnight to complete these beautiful pieces. I crochet as a hobby and as a way of helping me cope with my mental health issues. It’s very relaxing, until you find out that you made a mistake 5 rows back, you know it’s there are are actually debating frogging (unravelling) your work to make sure it’s perfect.

I started crocheting when I was pregnant with my daughter over 10 years ago. My Nanny Grace had taught me to create a basic chain, but sadly, I hadn’t picked up any further tips from a woman who could crochet intricate patterns, whilst never taking her eyes off the TV.

Above you can see the first blanket I made, for my daughter. Lots of single crochets, a couple of double crochets, but the increases are mainly chains (of 10 if I remember rightly). We all have our starting points. We all have a beginning. This is mine. I am proud of how far I have come and improved my skill. I am still learning. Be proud of your beginnings and the journey to get where you are.

2 thoughts on “Hello from Harri

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

